Our Events

AGM 2018

This year's AGM will be held on Saturday, May 26, 2018 at 4pm at the Eastside Jazz Cub of the Royal Birmingham Conservatoire during their Ellington conference. 200 Jennens Road, B4 7XR.

At 6 o'clock in the same venue, a concert will take place by the Conservatoire's Ellington Orchestra.

25th INTERNATIONAL STUDY GROUP CONFERENCE

The Conservatoire has opened booking for the 25th Duke Ellington International Study Group Conference in May. Among the presenters will be our own Frank Griffith.

In the Beginning, Duke: The Three-Day Ellington Summit
25-27 May 2018

Three-day ticket: £75
Friday: £30
Saturday: £35
Sunday: £15

Official Website

Book for all days at Eventbrite



We hold bi-monthly events in Central London, to which you and your friends are invited. Non-members are welcome.

Additionally, DESUK members in the capital have formed the London Jazz Society to put on the complementary bi-monthly events with less or no focus on Ellington, in between those of DESUK and at the same venue. These meetings are marked LJS below.

Everyone is welcome to attend the events, and attendance to both Societies' meetings is free to all, with retiring collections to defray expenses. We meet from 1.30 or so for a 2pm start.

Meetings are at the Civil Service Club, 13-15 Great Scotland Yard, London SW1A 2HJ. Embankment Tube Station, Charing Cross or Waterloo Mainline stations and many buses! Map

Why not come Along? Civilized and relaxed atmosphere. Sandwiches provided, full lunch available. Bar, etc.


Joint Programme, 2018.

LJS ~ Saturday 13th January 2018 (1.30 for 2pm) ~ “January” ~ New year bring and share.

DESUK ~ Saturday 10th February 2018 (1.30 for 2pm) ~ “February” ~ February.

LJS ~ Saturday 10th March 2018 (1.30 for 2pm) ~ “March” ~ March.

DESUK ~ Saturday 14th April 2018 (1.30 for 2pm) ~ “April” ~ April.

LJS ~ Saturday 12th May 2018 (1.30 for 2pm) ~ “May” ~ May.

DESUK ~ Saturday 9th June 2018 (1.30 for 2pm) ~ “June” ~ June.

LJS ~ Saturday 14th July 2018 (1.30 for 2pm) ~ “July” ~ July.

DESUK ~ Saturday 11th August 2018 (1.30 for 2pm) ~ “August” ~ August.

LJS ~ Saturday 8th September 2018 (1.30 for 2pm) ~ “Sepember” ~ Sepember.

DESUK ~ Saturday 13th October 2018 (1.30 for 2pm) ~ “October” ~ October.

LJS ~ Saturday 3rd November 2018 (1.30 for 2pm) ~ “November” ~ November. Please note date, which is 1st Saturday.

Both ~ Saturday 8th December 2018 (1.30 for 2pm) ~ “December” ~ December.